Core Faculty

  • Elizabeth Marchant

    Chair of Gender Studies and Associate Professor of Gender Studies and Comparative Literature

    Subfield: Latin American Cultural Studies, Comparative Race and Feminisms in the Americas, 19th- and 20th-Century Latin American Literature and Film

    Contact Information

    Email    marchant@gender.ucla.edu
    Office  2222 Rolfe Hall
    Phone 
  • Mishuana Goeman

    Vice Chair and Associate Professor, Gender Studies

    Subfield: Native American Literature, 20th Century American Literature, Race and Ethnic Theory

    Contact Information

    Email    goeman@gender.ucla.edu
    Office  2216 Rolfe Hall
    Phone 
  • Michelle Erai

    Assistant Professor, Gender Studies

    Subfield: Postcolonial Feminist Theories, Visual Culture, Indigenous Feminisms, Violence, Historiography and the Pacific

    Contact Information

    Email    merai@gender.ucla.edu
    Office  2220 Rolfe Hall
    Phone 
  • Aisha Finch

    Assistant Professor, Gender Studies and African American Studies

    Subfield: African Diaspora Studies, Black Feminism, Caribbean and Latin American History, Race and Gender in Cuba, Comparative Slavery, Black Cultural Studies

    Contact Information

    Email    akfinch@ucla.edu
    Office  2210 Rolfe Hall
    Phone 
  • Sarah Haley

    Assistant Professor, Gender Studies

    Subfield: U.S. Women's and Gender History, African American History 1865-Present, Critical Prison Studies, Social Movements, Labor & Working Class Studies

    Contact Information

    Email    shaley@ucla.edu
    Office  2225B Rolfe Hall
    Phone 
  • Grace Hong

    Associate Professor, Gender Studies and Asian American Studies

    Subfield: Women of Color Feminism, Comparative & Relational Race Theory, Cultural Studies, Political Economies of Race, Gender, and Sexuality, Race and Neoliberalism

    Contact Information

    Email    gracehongucla@gmail.com
    Office  3329 Rolfe Hall
    Phone 
  • Purnima Mankekar

    Professor, Gender Studies and Asian American Studies

    Subfield: Feminist Media Studies, Post-9/11Public Cultures, Affect Thoeries, Outsourcing and Information Technology, Transnational Cultural Studies; South Asian America, South Asia

    Contact Information

    Email    mankekar@ucla.edu
    Office  2203 Rolfe Hall
    Phone 
  • Kathryn Norberg

    Associate Professor, Gender Studies and History

    Subfield: History of Prostitution, European Women Pre-1800, Material Culture: Fashion and Furniture, Women of the French Court

    Contact Information

    Email    knorberg@ucla.edu
    Office  6265 Rolfe Hall
    Phone 
  • Jenny Sharpe

    Professer, Gender Studies and English

    Subfield: Postcolonial Studies, Caribbean Literatures, Representations of Slave Women, Literary Archives, Gendering of Black Atlantic Cultures

    Contact Information

    Email    sharpe@ucla.edu
    Office  1120 Rolfe Hall
    Phone 
  • Sharon Traweek

    Associate Professor, Gender Studies and History

    Contact Information

    Email    traweek@history.ucla.edu
    Office  2225A Rolfe Hall
    Phone 
  • Juliet Williams

    Associate Professor, Gender Studies and Associate Dean of Social Sciences

    Subfield: Feminist Political Thought; Feminist Legal Theory; Masculinity Studies; Gender and the Law; Gender and Education Policy; Feminist Cultural Studies; Socio-Legal Research Methods

    Contact Information

    Email    jawilliams@gender.ucla.edu
    Office  2201 Rolfe Hall
    Phone 

Joint Faculty

Emeriti

  • Carole Browner

    Distinguished Research Professor, Anthropology and Gender Studies

    Subfield: Gender, reproduction, healthocial impact of decoding the human genome, reproductive politics; Latin America, urban U.S. Subfield: Medical Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    browner@ucla.edu
    Office 
    Phone  310-825-4119
  • Sondra Hale

    Research Professor, Anthropology and Gender Studies

    Subfield: Gender; political economy; social movements; postcolonial and cultural studies; nationalism and colonialism; diaspora; aesthetics; Islam/Islamism; Middle East and Africa (mainly Sudan and Eritrea) Subfield: Sociocultural Anthropology

    Contact Information

    Email    sonhale@ucla.edu
    Office  391 Haines
    Phone  310-206-6505

Continuing Lecturers

  • Rhonda Hammer

    Continuing Lecturer, Gender Studies

    Subfield: Critical Feminisms; Patriarchal Terrorism; Politics of Representation; Colonization; Globalization; Cultural Studies; Critical Media Literacy; Engaged Pedagogy

    Contact Information

    Email    rhammer@ucla.edu
    Office  1120 Rolfe Hall
    Phone